IIT Kharagpur has bagged the highest laurels at the “Gandhian Young Technology Innovation (GYTI)” awards ceremony held at Rashtrapati Bhavan on 13 March, 2016 among 276 participating Universities/Institutes across India.

GYTI 2016 was a pan-India competition with over 2363 innovation entries in 50 technology domains from 276 Universities/Institutes belonging to 26 states and two Union territories. After four rounds of evaluation, 19 teams have been selected for innovation awards and 24 for appreciation. Of the 19 awards, 15 awardees in “Medical and Biotech” innovations category will get DBT- sponsored (BITAC-SRISTI) grants of Rs. 15 lakh each to further their prototypes.

All awards for IIT Kharagpur fall under the “Medical and Biotech” innovations category and each would receive the Rs 15-lakh grants. The appreciation was for an innovation under “Engineering” category.

The top seven institutes that bagged laurels at the event are

1) IIT Kharagpur (3 Awards, 1 Appreciation)
2) IIT Kanpur (2 Awards, 1 Appreciation)
3) IIT Madras (1 Award, 2 Appreciations)
4) IISc Bangalore, IIT Delhi, IIT Bombay (2 Awards)
5) IIT Hyderabad (1 Award, 1 Appreciation)

The projects from IIT KGP which have been recognized for the awards are as below:

Title: A simple cost-effective titanium foam for skeletal tissue reunion
Team: Kausik Kapat (12MM91P01) and Pavan Kumar Srivas (12MM92P02) under guidance of Prof. Santanu Dhara (SMST).
Category: BITAC-STISTI award under “Medical and Biotech” innovations

Title: Energy efficient combined process of microbial fuel cell (MFC) and membrane bioreactor (MBR) for high efficiency and reliable treatment of organic wastewater
Team: Sreemoyee Ghosh Ray (12AT91P02) and Gourav Dhar Bhowmick (14AG65R04) under guidance of Prof. M. M. Ghangreka (Civil)
Category: BITAC-STISTI award under “Medical and Biotech” innovations

Title: Flexible, biodegradable and anti-microbial new advanced form of Intra Uterine Contraceptive Device (IUCD)
Team: Bhuvaneshwaran Subramanian under guidance of Prof. Sujoy K Guha (SMST)
Category: BITAC-STISTI award under “Medical and Biotech” innovations

Title: Cost effective mechanical testing equipment for characterising creep behaviour of materials under combined tension-torsion loading
Team: Vineesh K P(12ME91P01) and Manish Dev (14ME63R52) under guidance of Prof. Vikranth Racherla (Mechanical)
Category: Appreciation under “Engineering” innovations

The GYTI 2016 awards book and other details can be accessed at http://gyti.techpedia.in/downloads

Source: iitkgp.org